top of page
Rechercher
  • Photo du rédacteurSabrina Combes

Clark the singer, a presentation by Sabrina C.


I hope you’re all doing well. Yesterday, I introduced you to Cassiopeia, the chief. Today, we continue our trip to Atlana with Clark.


Clark was considered a pretty famous singer at the time. In his letters he appears to be a rather active man. If he was considered an artist attached to his hometown, in which was all his family, numerous since he had in all 9 brothers , he often left for long months in other places — the names of the cities, the spaces in which he went are little known to us — :


I feel like the streets of Atlana sometimes suffocate me. The smell of sweat and frying had the effect of scaring me away ! Then, as they say, nothing better than to give up for a while all that exists in order to better appreciate what we already have. My inspiration too, must not dry up and be summed up in Atlana, otherwise, I am good at writing things without value all my life. (letter 11, Clark)

What’s interesting about Clark is that he’s pretty passionate about what he’s doing. He spoke at length about his creative process, how he performed on stage, and the people he worked with. He still preferred to work alone. The composition, for Clark, was more pleasant and sincere if he created alone. Thanks to his testimony, we discovered new types of instruments. So we know that Clark was accompanied by a banjo-like instrument with a larger resonance box.


Here is a picture of a modern banjo if you don’t really know what it looks like :



As regards Clark’s vocal personality. We consider that he must have had a fairly wide amplitude in the treble. He sometimes suffered long voice extinctions :


And again, I am cursed ! The light went out at the same time as my voice and I can only make it sound by the paper. Fortunately, I got some very good honey and I spend my days drinking hot water. No more wine for now, I must be able to perform again. (letter 13, Clark)

See you soon for new posts about Clark. But first of all, do you have questions and desires about future topics ?


Thank you for reading me !


March 13, 2023,

By Sabrina C.

30 vues

Posts récents

Voir tout

Fajra, head of religion

I’m going to present you Fajra. Fajra is in charge of everything connected to religion. I’m going to use the neutral pronoun “they” because their writings do not clearly indicate their gender. This ca

bottom of page